nua students' union

awards 2021

Colourful Logos! -05.jpg

NUASU's annual awards celebrate the incredible work students do to build student community, make change, and support each other in hard times. Each year we ask the NUA community to nominate a student or student team for a range of awards that aim to cover the breadth of work our students do. 

This year we were fortunate in being able to host a small in-person event for our winners and nominees, with full precautions made to make the event safe for all. The event was also live-streamed on Instagram - make sure you are following us to keep up to date with the latest events! @nuastudentsunion

See below for a full outline of the award categories, our nominees and winners!

Award night photos 

2021.06.23 - SU Awards_FULL_030_DSC0450.

Award nominees
and winners

Outstanding Contribution to the Students' Union Award (SU Member of the Year)

Nominees: Tanje Kelesh | Jane Ezechi | Sasha Washington

Winner: Sasha Washington

This award is to recognise a student who has excelled as a Rep, Student Officer or Society Officer and supported the student community over the last year.  

Outstanding Contribution to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award 

This award is to recognise the amazing contribution a student or group has made to champion equality, diversity and inclusion at NUA.

Sustainability Award 

Nominee: Victoria Reeves

The Sustainability award is to recognise the work of a student or group who have embedded sustainability into their society, school or local community. 

Project of the Year Award 

At NUA, many of our students engage with a host of university or community-based projects. This award is to celebrate the voluntary work of a student or group who have made an impact with their work. 

Student Rep Team of the Year

Nominees: Aurora Hampson and Megan Tate | Reece Lee and Amelia Stephanides | Gemma King | Tanje Kelesh | Architecture Rep Team 

This award recognises a Student Rep Team who have been exemplary in their representative role and supported students in their school in challenging times.  

PAL Person of the Year

Nominees: Aurora Hampson | Brad Tooke 

The PAL Person of the Year Award recognises the hard work and dedication of a PAL Mentor who has supported students in a challenging academic year. 

Society of the Year 

Nominees: Architecture and Interior Design Society | BAME Society

Society of the Year recognises a Society that have excelled in delivering for its members and created community spaces in person, online or through events. 

Outstanding New Society of the Year

Nominees: Disney Society | Film Society 

This award celebrates the hard work of society officers who created their society in the 2020-21 academic year. 

Nominees: Tricia Mercer-David | Muneerah Yate | Josie Bell | Tam Asidi

Winner: Muneerah Yate

Winner: Victoria Reeves

Nominees: Tanje Kelesh | Soraia Rodrigues

Winner: Soraia Rodrigues

Winner: Reece Lee and Amelia Stephanides

Student Rep of the Year (Arts and Media)

Nominees: Tanje Kelesh, Amelia Stephanides | Nikki Rose | Catia Pimental | Frances Sweeney | Gemma King

This award recognises a Student Rep for the Faculty of Arts and Media. Courses: Acting, Animation, Film and Moving Image Production, Fine Art, Games Art and Design, Games Development, Photography, VFX)

Winners: Frances Sweeney and Tanje Kelesh

Student Rep of the Year (Design and Architecture)

Nominees: Cara Ellaway | Lee Bales

This award recognises a Student Rep for the Faculty of Design and Architecture. Courses: Architecture, Fashion, Fashion Communication and Promotion, Fashion Marketing and Business, Graphics, Illustration, Interior Design, 

Winner: Lee Bales

Winner: Brad Tooke

Winner: BAME Society

Winner: Film Society

Staff Recognition

Over the last academic year, we know there have been some teaching superstars who have ensured students are prepared, supported, and inspired in their education. We will ensure every staff member nominated receives a thank you card and token of gratitude from the SU after the award evening.