top of page

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is our student board chaired by the SU President, with the primary purpose of guidance, approval, and accountability for the Students' Union. ​

This group is the key campaign and policy-making student committee for NUA Students' Union. They represent you and your views in a host of different ways, on issues ranging from social experience to representation, liberation, and much, much more. 

The following positions on the board will become available at the start of each new academic year. Student Reps and Club/Society Officers are entitled to committee membership.

Your 2023/24 Steering Committee is as follows:


President of Education and Representation (Chair) - Reece Lee 

President of Community and Welfare (Deputy Chair) - Nat Dalkiewicz 

Women's Officer - Esme Ransom

BAME Officer - Daniel Dwyer

Disabled Students Officer - May Gauntlet

International Students Officer - Aurora Engen

Mature Students Officer - Anita Bembere 

LGBTQ Officer - Jasmine Shelley 

Year 0 Student Rep - VACANT

Year 0 Student Rep - VACANT

Year 1 Student Rep - Emma Tapsell

Year 1 Student Rep - John Lindop

Year 2 Student Rep - Maggie Duca 

Year 2 Student Rep - Hilary El-Msury

Year 3 Student Rep - Kate Jenkins

Year 3 Student Rep - Darcy Fox 

MA Student Rep - Martina Katumba 

MA Student Rep - VACANT 

Level 5 Diploma Rep - Kim Bradfield 

Club or Society Representative - Matt Wright 

Club or Society Representative - Nicole Khoo

Paying Sports or Dance Society Representative - VACANT

Student Reps will be invited to stand for the positions on the board and in the case of more than the allotted number of students standing for one position, an election will be held. The same process will also be held for clubs and society officers.

The Students' Union's budget, changes to the constitution, and areas of focus will all be approved, amended, or rejected by a vote of the Steering Committee. The Steering Committee has an overall say on the activities of the Union and can hold the Presidents, instigating a vote of no confidence if necessary. ​

Minutes are taken at all Steering Committee meetings and are published once confirmed as a true and accurate representation of the discussions. 

​Next Steering Committee Dates:

Tuesday 30th January 

bottom of page